Bruce Springsteen announces new album 'Western Stars'

Having spent the last year performing his one-man show on Broadway, Bruce Springsteen is returning to his roots as he announces the details of his nineteenth studio album.

The new full-length 'Western Stars' is his first collection of new material since 2014's 'High Hopes', was recorded primarily at Springsteen’s home studio in New Jersey with additional recording in California and New York, and according to the press release, draws "inspiration in part from the Southern California pop records of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s".

Speaking about his upcoming release, The Boss added, “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It's a jewel box of a record."

Ron Aniello produced the album with Springsteen and plays bass, keyboard, alongside other instruments. Patti Scialfa provides vocals and contributes vocal arrangements on four of the tracks. The musical arrangements include strings, horns, pedal steel and contributions from more than 20 other players including Jon Brion (who plays celeste, Moog and farfisa), as well as guest appearances by David Sancious, Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell. The album was mixed by 13-time Grammy winner Tom Elmhirst.

Check out the full tracklisting for 'Western Stars' below.

'Western Stars' Tracklist:
1. Hitch Hikin’
2. The Wayfarer
3. Tucson Train
4. Western Stars
5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
8. Sundown
9. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel

More News

Vistas unveil new single 'Summer'

With their highly-anticipated new album set to drop at the end of next month, Vistas have now unveiled yet another cut taken from their forthcoming... 1 month 1 week ago

Bright Eyes share new single 'Forced Convalescence'

After returning with their first piece of new material in nine years last month, Bright Eyes are back once again to share another piece of new... 1 month 1 week ago

Belle And Sebastian announce collaborative project 'Protecting The Hive'

With the global lockdown still in full effect for most countries, Belle And Sebastian have launched a new collaborative project that has allowed... 1 month 1 week ago

Glass Animals share covers of Nirvana and Lana Del Rey as part of 'Quarantine Covers'

While the current quarantine measures have seen musical artists stretch their creativity further than ever these last few weeks, Glass Animals are... 1 month 1 week ago

Jack Garratt delivers new single 'Better'

With his long-awaited new album set to arrive in the coming months, Jack Garratt has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full... 1 month 1 week ago

Slam Dunk Festival add Alkaline Trio and The Used to this year's line-up

Having already moved the dates of this year's festival due to the ongoing coronavirus outbreak, Slam Dunk have now announced a pair of new additions... 1 month 1 week ago

Nadine Shah unveils new track 'Kitchen Sink'

With her highly-anticipated new album set to drop in the coming months, Nadine Shah has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from her forthcoming... 1 month 1 week ago

Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes deliver new single 'Nightrider'

With less than a week left before we get to hear their highly-anticipated collaborative album, Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes have now unveiled the next... 1 month 1 week ago

Bon Iver shares new charity single 'PDLIF'

With his brilliant 2019 studio album 'i,i' still ringing in our ears, Bon Iver has now returned to share a brand new track to support those fighting... 1 month 1 week ago