IDLES, Gary Numan and more announced as contributors to 'The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four'

Since the tragic passing of Gang Of Four founding member Andy Gill in February last year, countless artists have since come forward to pay tribute to the artist, and are now planning to release a compilation of cover and honorary tracks.

The new collection 'The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four' will see contributions from the likes of IDLES, Gary Numan, La Roux, Everything Everything, Warpaint, Flea and many more across a two-CD, four-LP release, artwork designed by Damien Hirst, and is due to be released on the 14th May.

Speaking about his contribution, Tom Morello said, “Andy Gill was one of a handful of artists in history who changed the way guitars are played. His band Gang of Four were just incendiary and completely groundbreaking with Andy’s confrontational, unnerving and sublime playing at the forefront. His jagged plague-disco raptor-attack industrial-funk deconstructed guitar anti-hero sonics and fierce poetic radical intellect were hugely influential to me.”

While Serj Tankian added, “It was a real pleasure to work on this track with Tom and honor the legacy of Andy and Gang of Four at the same time.”

Listen again to Tom Morrelo and Serj Tankian's offering 'Natural's Not In It' in the player and see the full tracklisting below.

The Problem of Leisure: CD One

Vinyl One, Side A
IDLES - Damaged Goods (UK)
Tom Morello & Serj Tankian - Natural’s Not in It (USA)
Helmet - In the Ditch (USA)
3D* x Gang of Four feat. Nova Twins - Where the Nightingale Sings (UK)
Hotei - To Hell With Poverty (Japan)

Vinyl One, Side B
Gary Numan - Love Like Anthrax (UK)
Gail Ann Dorsey - We Live as We Dream, Alone (USA)
Herbert Grönemeyer feat. Alex Silva - I Love a Man in a Uniform (Germany)
LoneLady - Not Great Men (UK)
JJ Sterry - 5.45 (UK)

The Problem of Leisure: CD Two

Vinyl Two, Side C
La Roux - Damaged Goods (UK)
Everything Everything - Natural’s Not in It (UK)
Dado Villa-Lobos - Return the Gift (Brazil)
The Dandy Warhols - What We All Want (USA)
Warpaint - Paralysed (USA)

Vinyl Two, Side D
Flea & John Frusciante – Not Great Men (USA)
The Sounds - I Love a Man in a Uniform (Sweden)
Hardcore Raver in Tears - Last Mile** (China)
Killing Joke x Gang of Four - Forever Starts Now (Killing Joke Dub) (UK)
Sekar Melati - Not Great Men (live version) (Japan)

* 3D is the remix name of Robert Del Naja from Massive Attack
** “Last Mile” is the new title for this cover of “Broken Talk”, reflecting new lyrics sung in Mandarin by Hardcore Raver in Tears

More News

The Night Café return with new single 'Isn't'

Following up the release of their highly-praised 2019 debut album '0151', The Night Café have returned to deliver a brand new single. The new... 1 day 22 hours ago

Xiu Xiu collaborate with Liars' Angus Andrew on 'Rumpus Room'

With their highly-anticipated new album set to land at the end of this month, Xiu Xiu have now returned to share the next cut lifted from their... 2 days 4 hours ago

Sharon Van Etten announces 'epic Ten' anniversary release

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of her iconic studio album 'epic' this year, Sharon Van Etten has now announced her plans for a new collection of... 2 days 6 hours ago

St. Vincent announces new album 'Daddy's Home'

After spending the last few weeks teasing the release, St. Vincent has now announced the details behind her highly-anticipated new studio album,... 2 days 22 hours ago

Middle Kids unveil new track 'Stacking Chairs'

With their highly-anticipated new album set to drop in a couple of weeks, Middle Kids have now unveiled another cut taken from their forthcoming full... 3 days 4 hours ago

girl in red delivers new single 'Serotonin'

After announcing the details behind her long-awaited debut album earlier this week, girl in red has now unveiled the latest cut to be lifted from her... 3 days 6 hours ago

Rostam announces new album 'Changephobia'

Following up the release of his heavily-praised 2017 debut LP 'Half-Light', Rostam has now announced his plans for a new studio album, arriving in... 3 days 22 hours ago

Ashe & FINNEAS collaborate on new single 'Till Forever Falls Apart'

With both artists currently blowing up around the world right now, Ashe and FINNEAS have now teamed up on a brand new single. The new track 'Till... 4 days 4 hours ago

Adult Mom unveil new single 'Breathing'

With their highly-anticipated new album due out in just a few days, Adult Mom have now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from their forthcoming full... 4 days 6 hours ago