Will Joseph Cook unveils new single 'Be Around Me'

With his eagerly-awaited new album set to drop in the coming months, Will Joseph Cook has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-length.

The new single 'Be Around Me' comes accompanied by a dizzying new video, filmed in Peckham and directed by short filmmaker, actor and Youtuber Bertie Gilbert, and follows on from the previously shared lead track 'Driverless Cars' in previewing his sophomore LP 'Something To Feel Good About', which arrives on the 27th November via Bad Hotel.

Speaking about the new offering, Will said, “The song is about those moments when you’re teetering on the edge of falling for someone, the transition between playing it cool and showing vulnerability. I wanted it to be flirty but still have these bouts of nervous energy jumping out. The initial spark for the tune came from a craving to write something really pacey. So I cranked the BPM to 165 which very literally gave it this really frenetic flow. Basically for me, it sounds like how falling for someone feels.”

While director Gilbert added, "I was immediately struck by how loose, how earnest these new songs were. It’s all coming from a very singular, very human place. In the spirit of this album being such a departure for Will, I wanted the video to reflect that. Let’s get outside, see the world as it zooms past us. Let’s celebrate it. How wonderful and isolating and dizzying new love can be. He’s grown his hair out, he’s rocking a new moustache, he’s singing more explicitly about love in real time. The video had to honour this new direction, it had to be free, kinetic and fun.

"Was a blast collaborating with Will on this, I feel our sensibilities align in a number of ways. I’m known for putting a homemade spin on a lot of my work, so when this called for a softer vibe overall, it just made sense."

Check out the new video for 'Be Around Me' in the player below.

More News

The Smashing Pumpkins announce new double album 'CYR'

Following on from the release of their much-loved 2018 record 'Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol 1 / LP: No Past, No Future, No Sun', The Smashing Pumpkins... 15 hours 34 min ago

Black Honey share new single 'Run For Cover'

Following on from the release of their comeback single 'Beaches' last month, Black Honey are back once again with another brand new cut. The new... 17 hours 26 min ago

Sunflower Bean return with new single 'Moment In The Sun'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised sophomore LP 'Twentytwo in Blue' in 2018 and its follow-up EP 'King of the Dudes' last year,... 20 hours 26 min ago

PUP announce new EP 'This Place Sucks Ass'

Following on from the release of their highly-praised album 'Morbid Stuff' last year, PUP have now announced their plans for a new EP, arriving next... 22 hours 18 min ago

Georgia reworks her single 'Feel It' to feature Yung Baby Tate

With her highly-praised new album 'Seeking Thrills' currently in the running for the Mercury Prize right now, Georgia has now unveiled a revised... 1 day 15 hours ago

A. G. Cook delivers new track 'Beautiful Superstar'

With his highly-anticipated new studio album now less than 24 hours away, A. G. Cook has now unveiled the final cut from his forthcoming full-length... 1 day 20 hours ago

Will Butler shares new single 'Bethlehem'

With his eagerly-awaited new solo album arriving at the end of next week, Arcade Fire frontman Will Butler has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted... 1 day 22 hours ago

Eels announce new album 'Earth To Dora'

Following on from the release of their much-loved LP 'The Deconstruction' in 2018, Eels have now announced their plans for a new studio album,... 2 days 14 hours ago

Sufjan Stevens delivers new single 'Sugar'

With just over a week to go before he releases his highly-anticipated new album, Sufjan Stevens has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from his... 2 days 20 hours ago