Young Fathers win Mercury Music Prize

Scottish hip-hop trio Young Fathers have won this year's Mercury Music Prize, with their debut album 'Dead'.

The three-piece beat off hefty competition from the likes of Bombay Bicycle Club, Damon Albarn and bookies favourite FKA Twigs to scoop the award and the £20,000 cash prize.

Although it is too early to tell what this means for the future of the group, but every winner in the past has seen album sales sky rocket in the days after the announcement, so could prove a very lucrative win for them after all.

See below for the full list of nominees from this year's event.

Damon Albarn - 'Everyday Robots'
Royal Blood - 'Royal Blood'
Kate Tempest - 'Everybody Down'
GoGo Penguin - 'v2.0'
FKA twigs - 'LP1'
Young Fathers - 'Dead'
East India Youth - 'Total Strife Forever'
Anna Calvi - 'One Breath'
Jungle - 'Jungle'
Nick Mulvey - 'First Mind'
Polar Bear - 'In Each And Every One'
Bombay Bicycle Club - 'So Long, See You Tomorrow'

More News

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds announce new double album 'Ghosteen'

After reportedly being badgered for months about when a new album would be happening, Nick Cave finally gave in and announced that the band would be... 3 hours 20 min ago

DJ Shadow announces new double album 'Our Pathetic Age'

Following on from his critically-praised 2016 album 'The Mountain Will Fall', DJ Shadow has now announced his plans for a new double album, arriving... 7 hours 14 min ago

Tegan And Sara unveil new track 'Don't Believe The Things They Tell You (They Lie)'

With only a few days left before they release their highly-anticipated new album, Tegan And Sara have now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from... 8 hours 36 min ago

Benjamin Francis Leftwich returns with new single 'Elephant'

After delivering his brilliant new album 'Gratitude' earlier this year, Benjamin Francis Leftwich has returned once again to unveil a brand new... 3 days 3 hours ago

Rex Orange County announces new album 'Pony'

With his latest single '10/10' still currently doing the rounds, Rex Orange County aka Alexander O'Connor has now announced the details behind his... 3 days 6 hours ago

Georgia announces new album 'Seeking Thrills'

Having already seen her previously shared single 'Started Out' and 'About Work The Dancefloor' receiving numerous radio and club play throughout this... 3 days 8 hours ago

Soccer Mommy returns with new single 'lucy'

After stunning us with her terrific debut album 'Clean' last year, Soccer Mommy aka Sophie Allison has now returned with a brand new single. The... 4 days 3 hours ago

Will Joseph Cook shares new track 'The Dragon'

After returning earlier this year with his fantastic comeback single 'Hey Brother', Will Joseph Cook is back once again with another socially-aware... 4 days 7 hours ago

Field Music announce new album 'Making A New World'

Following on from the release of their brilliant 2018 studio album 'Open Here', Field Music have now announced their plans for a new LP, arriving... 4 days 8 hours ago