Bruce Springsteen announces new album 'Western Stars'

Having spent the last year performing his one-man show on Broadway, Bruce Springsteen is returning to his roots as he announces the details of his nineteenth studio album.

The new full-length 'Western Stars' is his first collection of new material since 2014's 'High Hopes', was recorded primarily at Springsteen’s home studio in New Jersey with additional recording in California and New York, and according to the press release, draws "inspiration in part from the Southern California pop records of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s".

Speaking about his upcoming release, The Boss added, “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It's a jewel box of a record."

Ron Aniello produced the album with Springsteen and plays bass, keyboard, alongside other instruments. Patti Scialfa provides vocals and contributes vocal arrangements on four of the tracks. The musical arrangements include strings, horns, pedal steel and contributions from more than 20 other players including Jon Brion (who plays celeste, Moog and farfisa), as well as guest appearances by David Sancious, Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell. The album was mixed by 13-time Grammy winner Tom Elmhirst.

Check out the full tracklisting for 'Western Stars' below.

'Western Stars' Tracklist:
1. Hitch Hikin’
2. The Wayfarer
3. Tucson Train
4. Western Stars
5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
8. Sundown
9. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel

More News

Courtney Marie Andrews shares new single 'Burlap String'

With her eagerly-awaited new album set to arrive in the coming months, Courtney Marie Andrews has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from her... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Rina Sawayama unveils new track 'Bad Friend'

With her highly-anticipated new album due out in less than 24 hours, Rina Sawayama has now unveiled another cut lifted from her forthcoming full-... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Jamie xx returns with new single 'Idontknow'

Having yet to follow up his masterful 2015 debut album 'In Colour', Jamie xx has now finally returned to release a brand new single. The new track... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Declan McKenna shares new single 'The Key To Life On Earth'

With his highly-anticipated new album set to arrive later this year, Declan McKenna has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Dan Croll announces new album 'Grand Plan'

Having already unveiled a wealth of new singles so far this year, Dan Croll has now announced his plans for a new studio album, arriving later this... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Real Estate unveil augmented reality live show 'Quarantour'

Things may be in a state of flux right now with live shows and festivals canceled globally, but that hasn't stopped Real Estate from providing their... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Marie Dahlstrom unveils new single 'Wandering'

With her eagerly-awaited debut album set to arrive near the end of next month, Marie Dahlstrom has now unveiled the next cut to be lifted from her... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Orlando Weeks announces debut solo album 'A Quickening'

After returning earlier this year to share his comeback single 'Safe In Sound', former Maccabees frontman Orlando Weeks has now announced his plans... 1 month 2 weeks ago

Gerry Cinnamon shares new single 'Head In The Clouds'

With only a few days left before we get to hear his highly-anticipated new album, Gerry Cinnamon has now dropped yet another cut lifted from his... 1 month 2 weeks ago